On The Tender Spot Of Every Calloused Moment

(Blue Note)

Ambrose Akinmusire (t), Sam Harris (p), Harish Raghavan (b) and Justin Brown (d)

Ambrose Akinmusire’s fifth studio album finds the 38 year-old trumpeter in as reflective a mode as ever, asking questions about black identity and avoiding clichéd pathways just as he opts for musical roads less travelled. Without the illuminating vocal contributions of 2018’s excellent Origami Harvest, the spotlight falls on a quartet whose cohesion reflects a decade-long history, and, anchored by the outstanding drummer Justin Brown, it shines emphatically. Kevin Le Gendre

Read the full review in the July issue of Jazzwise

Lagos Pepper Soup


Michael Olatuja (b, el b, perc, producer) Lionel Loueke, Hervé Samb, Femi Temowo (g) Aaron Parks, Robert Mitchell (p) Dianne Reeves, Becca Stevens, Angelique Kidjo, Laura Mvula, Onaje Jefferson, Thana Alexa, Camille Thurman (v) Joe Lovano (ts) Regina Carter (violin) Grégoire Maret (harmonica) Brandee Younger (harp) Terreon Gully, Troy Miller (d) and Joseph Joubert, David Metzger, Jason Michael Webb, John Cowherd (string orchestrations)

A thorough command of hard-hitting afrobeat, jazz and funk enables Olatuja to make appealing music that draws a coherent line from the rhythmically and metrically complex to ballads with a soulful or folkish beauty. Kevin Le Gendre

Read the full review in the July issue of Jazzwise


(Brainfeeder/Ninja Tune)

Lars Horntveth (s, cl, g, ky, syn, bib, p, elec), Marcus Forsgren (g, v), Even Ormestad